Christian Den Fjerdes Laug


Mette Fr. 2The leader of the Social Democrats Party, Mette Frederiksen, was initiated into Christian The Fourth´s Guild.
It was the original intention that Mette Frederiksen should be initiated in connection with the Guild´s 75-years anniversary on the 4th of May 2018.
Mette Frederiksen was unfortunately not able to participate at that date, and it was not until the 25th of October we got he opportunity to initiate Mette Frederiksen at another anniversary-initiation.
Besides Mette Frederiksen were 13 other persons initiated - among them the new principal-pair from Aalborg Convent, Flemming Møller Mortensen and Erik Elgaard.
It was a very nice initiation where Mette Frederiksen got the opportunity to experience a fine Aalborg tradition and enjoy mead and red sausages.

See the pictures

Photo: Fini Ryming


This initiation was on the 4th of July in connection with the festivities in Rebild Bakker. At the same time the American and the Danish main speakers – Søren Juul Jørgensen and Jesper Steinmetz – were initiated.

The annual festivities on occasion of the American National Day in Rebild Bakker traditionally comprises the initiation of the American and the Danish main speakers. Furthermore a number of Danish/Americans and other relevant persons are normally initiated.

This year the initiation ceremony also included the initiation of the new American ambassador, Carla Sands. Carla Sands was appointed American ambassador to Denmark in December 2017, so it was the first time she experienced the festivities in Rebild Bakker and the traditionally initiation into Christian The Fourth´s Guild.

As usual the initiation was a fine and happy event and Carla Sands participated in high spirits. During the traditionally “city walk” which leads to the “secret entrance” to Christian The Fourth´s Guild – which the new members get a key to – she was very interested in studying the marvelous old building Jens Bangs Stenhus. During the initiation she had heard the story about this magnificent house and its builder, the merchant Jens Bang, and she could well imagine how much bigger the house must have seemed at that time.>>>

2018 07 Trillinger1A mother to triplets in Visse reacted, when she saw Christian the Fourth’s Guild’s Grant to Triplets mentioned in an article about the quadruplets in Kongerslev.

That is why C4 once more – with great pleasure - had to turn out to deliver the Triplet Grant, which was founded in 1944, and these triplets in Visse became the number 104 triplets to receive the Grant,(and we in the Christian The Fourth´s Guild feel that we play a small part in the increase in population through the years).

The tripletmothers  Lise Overby and Gro Garner Overby, Visse, had thought it puzzling that they hadn’t heard anything about a Triplet Grant – and it has now been revealed to be an error in the call-system for “ triplets and more than 3 children-births”.

Christian The Fourth´s Guild was very happy to receive the “news” about the triplets in Visse, and have now visited and presented the three children with their grants and bouquets of flowers and a bottle of “laugsbitter” for the mothers.

The Visse-triplets, Ingrid, Kamma and Frede, are born on the 17th of May 2017, and they are by far the biggest triplets that the chief bencher Niels Voss Hansen has as yet presented with the Triplet Grant.

Mama Lisa  tells that the pregnancy lasted 34 weeks and 6 days – then the children were born, 5 weeks prematurely – but they were O.K. all three of them, even though their first days had to be spent in the neonatal ward in Aalborg University Hospital. Their birth-weights were: 2,0 kg, 2,1 kg and 2,75 kg.

Once again the Guild’s Triplet Grant had succeeded in – a little late this time – to create some pleasure in a new home.  

See the pictures

2018 Firlinger 3Two little girls and two little boys from Kongerslev has got an extra contribution to their old age pension because they received Christian The Fourth´s Guild´s triplet/quadruplet grant.

The grant was instituted in 1943 and are given to every triplet and quadruplet born in Aalborg. They each get a certain amount of money which time and inflation has raised to 1,500 DKK in 2018.

The quadruplets were born the 20th of April 2018. The quadruplets are named Leah, Noah, Axel and Ella; their father and mother are Anna and Luis Isaksson.

 Four benchers from the Guild visited the family and presented the grant and the money.

The mother received a bouquet of flowers and the father got a bottle of Laugsbitter. For the older brother Theo there was a box of Lego. For the small ones there also was a small bunch of flowers.

Christian The Fourth´s Guild was founded in Duus´ Vinkjælder in Jens Bangs Stenhus in December 1942 and the quadruplet/triplet grant was instituted a few months later. Last time it was presented was in 2017.

Caption: Jens-Chr. Schmidt (with Ella), Henrik Jensen (with Axel), Peter Reinau (with Noah), Niels Voss Hansen (with Leah), Luis, Theo and Anna.

Photo: Fini Ryming

See the pictures

7Once each year Christian The Fourth´s Guild is “invaded” by its Norwegian branch which has its home in Oslo.  

It was a festive day with initiation of 10 new Norwegian members and when it was so festive it was not least because they had taken 80 Norwegians with them to Aalborg to participate in the initiation.

Chief bencher Niels Voss Hansen mastered the initiation in his usual fine style and the newly initiated had to take a walk in order to greet the Guild-tree in front of Aalborg old city hall and to try the “secret entrance” behind Jens Bang´s Stenhus.

The cheerful initiation ended with luncheon in Søgaard´s Bryghus and here there were wonderful music played by the Guild´s troubadours and by the New Orleans Orchestra that followed the Norwegians to Denmark.

Photo: Jens Morten

See the pictures