Honor from theLast year 463 people from 24 countries were initiated into Christian The Fourth´s Guild here in Aalborg at 21 initiation ceremonies. These persons´ visit to the Guild are contributing to “putting Aalborg on the map” and to make it possible for the Guild´s Foundation to donate 100.000 DKK to social, humanitarian and cultural purposes every year.

The Guild got 20 more members when the general meeting was held in February in Duus' Winecellar. It is a tradition that on this occasion the Guild will initiate anyone who wishes to join the Guild. It is also at this annual general meeting that some of the Guild's prizes and donations are given away.

This year´s Aalborg Prize went to the young swimmer Mie Østergaard Nielsen as an extra honor to celebrate her many championships. “You have with your many international medals been a fantastic representative for Aalborg and for Denmark, and we are happy that you will accept our Aalborg Prize” said chief bencher Niels Voss Hansen.

The Aalborg Prize consists of the Honor and a check from the Guild – and checks were also presented to two residents of the Fourth of May College in Aalborg. The Guild is the sponsor of two rooms in the college, the Tolstrup-room and the Churchill-room and once a year the successive occupants of these rooms get a greeting from the Guild. This year it was Rune W. Larsen and Martin Beermann Staal.

PFC Aksel Wedel Bang Jensen was nominated to “Soldier of the Year”. He was selected by the Aalborg Garrison as a hardworking, competent, diligent, conscientious and co-operative soldier, who has also done military service abroad.

Niels Kaj Strøyberg was honored with Guild´s big “Prize of Honor”. He has for decades been an outstanding and highly esteemed person in Aalborg´s commercial, educational and cultural development. Latest he has been doing a magnificent job in the committee which worked for the establishment of the House of Music on the Aalborg waterfront. The house is now completed and successfully in use and the Guild wished on this occasion to present the “Prize of Honor” to Niels Kaj Strøyberg. Niels Kaj Strøyberg was out of town on the day of the general meeting and will receive the Prize at a later time.

Photo: From the left: The two residents from the “Fourth of May College” Rune W. Larsen and Martin Beermann Staal, chief bencher Niels Voss Hansen, swimmer Mie Østergaard Nielsen, PFC Aksel Wedel Bang Jensen and the treasurer of the Guild Ib Regnarsson.

See the pictures

Photo: Fini Ryming